Indigenous Education Services
Acknowledging Indigenous Territory

Giving thanks to our Indigenous partners

College of the Rockies serves the communities of the East Kootenays. All of the College's campuses are located in the traditional territory of the Ktunaxa and  Kinbasket peoples. Five First Nations bands are located in the regional boundary of the College. Four bands are Ktunaxa and one is Shuswap. Additionally, the College works with the Kootenay Regional Office of the Métis Nation, BC. We are thankful for all our Indigenous partners and are constantly seeking new ways to support the development of our community.

The Indigenous Education Protocol Agreement

College of the Rockies has affirmed its partnership and commitment to education for each of the Indigenous groups served within our region by signing the Indigenous Education Protocol for Colleges and Institutes (IEP). The protocol agreement outlines a strategic direction to ensure that College of the Rockies continues to make Indigenous education a priority! All Indigenous students will gain opportunities to achieve their greatest educational success through the benefits outlined in the IEP.